Frequently asked questions

Getting started

How to add an address to Padlok?

Start by tapping the + button on the main screen. You can then either tap an address in the search field, or select an address from one of your contacts.

Why doesn’t my address have any code associated?

Padlok takes data privacy very seriously. For that reason, it only knows about the code your provide. It’ll never use a shared database ; or feed an external database with your code. Your data is yours, and stay yours.

Notifications

How to enable notifications?

After you’ve added your first address, enable the switch labeled “Show info when I’m near”. When applicable, you must allow the application to localize you, and to send you notification.

When do notification trigger themselves?

Notifications will trigger when the application considers itseft close enough to the address. To improve accuracy, make sure to set the localisation permission to “Always”.

I wasn’t notified when I expected I would, what happened?

Notifications rely on the iOS geofencing that will wake the application when you enter a pre-defined area around the address. Padlok does not know where you are at every moment, and is just awaken by the system. Sometime the system won’t awake Padlok. Because the localization accuracy is not enough, or because low power mode is enabled ; or even when background refresh is disabled. Make sure that no warning message is shown below the notification switch. If so, notification might not work properly.

Sharing

Can I share some address information to someone that does not have Padlok installed?

Sure! Sharing using a link works for everyone that have an internet connection and a navigator up to date. On iOS, an AppClip will open a native experience and suggest the application for installation so they can make the shared code their own.

A code have changed, can I update the link I’ve already shared?

Of course! The application will suggest it for you. You’ll have two choices for updating the link: Updating it, making the new codes available without updating the link, or recreate it, so that old link become unavailable. The second option is better if you don’t want anyone that have the link to access the updated information.

Privacy

Where is my data stored and is it accessible by others?

Your application data is stored on device, and in iCloud if enabled on device. Only your devices connected to the same iCloud account can access this data. Nobody else.

How is stored the data I shared with a link?

Not in an exploitable way. When you generate a share link, your data is encrypted on your device, and then sent to my servers in France. The encryption key is in the url. Without the url, there is no way to actually access the data. I cannot access your data, and nobody should. When opening the link, either the application, or the website will decrypt the data sent by my server on your device. Therefore, this is a end-to-end encryption mecanism.