How to add an address to Padlok?
Start by tapping the + button on the main screen. You can then either tap an address in the search field, or select an address from one of your contacts.
Why does my address have no code associated?
Padlok takes data privacy very seriously. For that reason, it only knows about the code your provide. It’ll never use a shared database ; or feed an external database with your code. Your data is yours, and stay yours.
How to enable notifications?
After you’ve added your first address, enable the switch labeled “Show info when I’m near”. When applicable, you must allow the application to localize you, and to send you notification.
When do notification trigger themselves?
Notifications will trigger when the application considers itself close enough to the address. To improve accuracy, make sure to set the localisation permission to “Always”.
I was not notified when I expected I would, what happened?
Notifications rely on the iOS geofencing that will wake the application when you enter a pre-defined area around the address. Padlok does not know where you are at every moment, and is just awaken by the system. Sometime the system won’t awake Padlok. Because the localization accuracy is not enough, or because low power mode is enabled ; or even when background refresh is disabled. Make sure that no warning message is shown below the notification switch. If so, notification might not work properly.
What data is collected by Padlok?
Padlok asks you for you location. But the location is only used on your device and is never send to the outside world. The only data Padlok collects are anonymized, and are all for purchases managements and statistics; or for analytics and performance monitoring. Padlok does not gather any personal data, any address or any address info.
Where is my data stored and is it accessible by others?
Your application data is stored on device, and in iCloud if enabled on device. Only your devices connected to the same iCloud account can access this data. Nobody else.
How is stored the data I shared with a link?
Not in an exploitable way. When you generate a share link, your data is encrypted on your device, and then sent to my servers in France. The encryption key is in the url. Without the url, there is no way to actually access the data. I cannot access your data, and nobody should. When opening the link, either the application, or the website will decrypt the data sent by my server on your device. Therefore, this is a end-to-end encryption mechanism.
What happens after my subscription ends?
After you subscription ends, you will lose the premium features that are attached. If you have more than three addresses created, you will only be able to consult the three closest; so you won’t loose any data. And you’ll be free to delete any addresses you want.
Can I upgrade to lifetime premium before my subscription ends?
Yes, you can! First you’ll need to cancel your subscription renewal, then a button “Upgrade to lifetime” will be available in the about screen with a lower price.